## **Information Report**

**DATE:** June 6, 2023

**TO:** Board of Trustees

**FROM:** Darrel Robertson, Superintendent of Schools

**SUBJECT:** Michael A. Strembitsky Award of Excellence

**ORIGINATOR:** Carrie Rosa, Acting for Director, Communications

**RESOURCE** Cathy MacDonald

STAFF:

**REFERENCE** Board Policy AGA.BP – Recognition of Students, Staff, Parents and the Community

<u>Administrative Regulation HI.AR – Recognition of Students</u>

#### **ISSUE**

Every year, each Division high school may nominate a student for the Michael A. Strembitsky Award of Excellence. A selection committee adjudicates the nominees based on the award's criteria and selects three recipients.

#### **BACKGROUND**

The Michael A. Strembitsky Award of Excellence was established to honour the Division's longest-serving superintendent, Michael A. Strembitsky. A gold, silver and bronze medallion and cheques in the amount of \$2,000, \$1,500 and \$1,000 respectively are presented to the three Grade 12 students who best exemplify the award criteria.

#### **CURRENT SITUATION**

Each of the following nominees will be acknowledged with a plaque.

### **KEY POINTS**

Name School

Victoria Silva-Veltkamp Academy at King Edward

Samantha Macatangay Centre High

Harsehaj Kaur Dr. Anne Anderson

Alexander Callas Eastglen

Elise VandenBorn Edmonton Christian High

Jack BatesHarry AinlayTessa PrattJ. Percy PageAlyssa ShenJasper PlaceSandy IliganLillian OsborneTran NguyenM. E. LaZerteAnsh ChavdaMcNally

Kaitlyn Riesen Millwoods Christian

Aurora Shi Old Scona Yousra Berih Queen Elizabeth



# **Information Report**

Sofia Sejutee Ross Sheppard
Maria Ngan Strathcona
Maria Morin Victoria
Angela Corsaro Vimy Ridge
Abinash Saravanan W. P. Wagner

The bronze, silver and gold Michael A. Strembitsky Award of Excellence recipients will be announced by the Board Chair at the public Board meeting on June 6, 2023.

CR:cm