DATE:	March 5, 2024
то:	Board of Trustees
FROM:	Darrel Robertson, Superintendent of Schools
SUBJECT:	Edwin Parr Teacher Award
ORIGINATOR:	Angela Anderson, Chief Human Resources Officer, Human Resources
RESOURCE STAFF:	Trish Kolotyluk, Kevin Carson

ISSUE

Each year, principals are invited to nominate first year teachers for the Edwin Parr Teacher Award which is sponsored by the Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA). One nominee is selected to represent the Division at the zone level.

BACKGROUND

Sixteen first year teachers were nominated by their principals for the 2024 ASBA Edwin Parr Teacher Award. A committee of Division leadership staff met on Friday, February 2, 2024, to review and assess the nominations relative to the selection criteria established by ASBA. Results from the committee's assessment, as well as points awarded based on scholastic achievement and student teaching evaluations were compiled. Based on the selection criteria, four nominees were invited to a meet and greet with representatives from the Division Support Team.

CURRENT SITUATION

Each of the following nominee semi-finalists will be introduced:

Nominee	School
Bridget Jessome	Hillview School
Kate Jolicoeur	Soraya Hafez School
Shaeleigh Kokot	Joey Moss School
Timon Mueller	Greenview School

KEY POINTS

The Division nominee for the Zone 2/3 2024 Edwin Parr Teacher Award will be announced by the Superintendent of Schools and will be presented with an engraved plaque.

TK:kv